Download this event for iCal

London Chamber Orchestra


Dumbarton Oaks
Clarinet Concerto
Symphony No.39


Mark van de Wiel
Christopher Warren-Green

The London Chamber Orchestra performs a programme featuring Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks and Mozart’s Symphony No 39 and Clarinet Concerto, performed by LCO clarinettist Mark van de Wiel.

Dumbarton Oaks was the last work Stravinsky completed before leaving Europe, composed during his neo-classical period. The piece is named for the Dumbarton Oaks estate in Washington DC, which was owned by Robert and Mildred Bliss, who commissioned Stravinsky to compose a piece in the tradition of Bach’s Brandenburg concertos.

In the final few years of Mozart’s life, he composed his final three symphonies, including Symphony No 39, and his Clarinet Concerto, the last purely instrumental work he would compose, which was completed in 1791 shortly before his death in December of that year. Mozart wrote the concerto for clarinettist Anton Stadler, whom he greatly admired.

Part of London Chamber Orchestra

London Chamber Orchestra

The LCO explores the links between Baroque repertoire - Bach's Brandenburg Concertos 3 & 4 - and Stravinsky's neo-classical Pulcinella Suite and Shostakovich's First Cello Concerto.

London Chamber Orchestra

Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No.1 alongside Mozart's Mass in C minor, conducted by Christopher Warren-Green.

London Chamber Orchestra

Programme to include works by Purcell, Vivaldi, David Gordon and Bach, with the David Gordon Trio and soloist Charlotte Barbour-Condini.

London Chamber Orchestra

An all-Beethoven programme including the Fifth Piano Concerto (Emperor) and Third Symphony (Eroica). With soloist Riyad Nicolas.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information


£28, £22, £15
Children 16 and under: free (limited availability)
ENCORE Members: 10% off all tickets

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info