Close Icon

Please note: due to upgrade work taking place in the Hall, the Box Office is closed on Monday 15 & Tuesday 16 January. Online booking is unaffected.

The Box Office re-opens on Wednesday 17 January at 10am. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Close this Window

Download this event for iCal

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Festive Overture
Violin Concerto No.2
Jeajoon Ryu
Sinfonia da Requiem ‘Ju-yung Chung’ (London premiere)


Chloe Hanslip
In-Hye Kim
Grzegorz Nowak
Philharmonia Chorus

Written in just three days, Shostakovich’s Festive Overture is full of bombast and glittering orchestral sounds, from its blazing fanfare to the sparkling melodies dashing across the orchestra. Another Russian classic, but in an entirely different mood, is Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2, full of enigmatic twists and turns. Composed to commemorate the late Ju-yung Chung, Jeajoon Ryu’s intense and powerful Sinfonia da Requiem was hailed by fellow-composer Penderecki as ‘a masterpiece’.

Ticket Information *

£37.50, £30, £22, £12.50

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info